AGU honors include Fellows, Union awards, medals, and prizes, and Section awards. Descriptions and eligibility rules of union awards can be found on the AGU site.

Recent Honors

  • Michael Jackson was awarded the Gilbert Award.
  • Mark Dekkers and Michael Jackson were elected Fellows.
  • Cathy Constable serves on the AGU Board of Directors

AGU Fellows

See recipients with GP primary/secondary affilitation.

To be elected a Fellow is a special tribute for those who have made exceptional scientific contributions. Nominated fellows must have attained acknowledged eminence in the Earth and space sciences. Nominations are due between 15 January and 31 March.

Union Awards & Medals

See GP recipients.

GP members have been awarded the William Bowie Medal, the Walter H. Bucher Medal, the Maurice Ewing Medal, the John Adam Fleming Medal, and the James B. Macelwane Medal.

Section Awards

See GP recipients.

The GP section established the William Gilbert Award in 2003 to recognize outstanding and unselfish work in magnetism of Earth materials and of the Earth and planets, including the whole range of research activities in which GP members are engaged. It is given (no more than once per year) for excellence in at least one of the following categories: scientific rigor, originality, and impact; leadership and service to the GP research community; development of new cross-disciplinary research areas and methods. By convention the award is given to a junior researcher in even numbered years. Junior researchers must be either less than 36 years old on December 31st of that year, or less than 5 years from PhD graduation on that same date. Any member can nominate a potential candidate. Nominations for the current year are due by April 14 and should be sent to Laurie Brown at lbrown@geo.umass.edu (GP Section President-Elect and Chair of the GP Fellows and Awards Committee) with a copy to Andy Jackson at ajackson@ethz.ch (GP Section President).

Edward Bullard Lecture

See GP recipients.

The Edward Bullard Lecture is given annually at the Fall AGU Meeting as part of the Bowie lecture series inaugurated in 1989. It replaced the Allan Cox Lecture in 2002.

Student Paper Awards

Awards are given for exemplary papers presented by student authors at AGU meetings.